let’s join a gang!

I didn’t think I was going to continue writing stuff on the internet after my return to the United States.
Then, just last night, my new roommate Geoff came home and stated resolutely, “Thomas, we’re joining the neighborhood association.” He popped open a beer and took a swig. “And the Crips. What do you think?”

I pondered; the neighborhood association requires monthly dues of $5 while the Crips apparently require an interest in violent crime and a willingness to submit to gang hierarchy. Neither of these things really jibe well with my being in Americorps. Besides, my roommate and I are among a very slim minority of white people in the neighborhood, the north side of Eastern Parkway in Brooklyn’s Crown Heights. To paraphrase Dave Chapelle, whose famous “Block Party” took place only a few blocks from here; If you see a gang of black people with one white dude, you know the white dude must have done some seriously crazy shit.

Did you know that if you join the Crips you should avoid using words with “ck” in them? The English language has a fair few of those. But they’re no good because “ck” can be construed to mean “Crip Killa”. Along the same lines, it’s considered advantageous as a forward-thinking Crip to wear only “BK” sneakers. “Blood Killa” is a fashion statement. How about that?

I guess it was tidbits like these that made me realize that Brooklyn has a lot of “local flavor” that’s just as worth documenting on the internet as Beijing’s was.

Geoff wears goofy red glasses and sports Elvis-like sideburns. “You’d have to get blue glasses,” I pointed out.

One Response to “let’s join a gang!”

  1. J.R. Says:

    Right on!

Leave a Reply

