Holidaze, or Ludichristmas (part I)

I’m not usually one to blog about food choices.
That having been said, reader, I haven’t gone grocery shopping in weeks. I can’t remember the last time I packed my lunch.
I just show up at work, assume there’ll be something free for me to munch on, and lo and behold.

In fact, all or nearly all of my caloric intake in the past two weeks has been from office parties, office party leftovers, adult ed class parties, or adult ed class party leftovers.

In the past week, for example, I have subsisted off of:

  • coffee and soda (uncountable cups of)
  • fried chicken
  • pizza
  • yucca fritta (a common Cuban restaurant leftover)
  • A lobster salad sandwich (a godsend)
  • noodle concoctions, tofu, dumplings, chicken and broccoli (all donated by Adult Ed students of the Chinese lady persuasion)
  • 7-up cake (the best thing ever to come out of K-Mart)
  • other kinds of cake with vanilla Jello actually *in* the cake (all the rage these days)
  • untold numbers of Dunkin’ Donuts
  • brownies, SO much more cake, including 7-layer candy cake (which has the same simplicity::deliciousness ratio as Katey Rich’s saltine toffee)

The list goes on. I don’t feel proud of any of it, but the most pitiful item which I haven’t yet mentioned consists of chocolates scarfed down in a late night binge as I watched as many episodes of “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia” as their somewhat scanty availability on the internet would permit.

Tomorrow afternoon I’ll climb aboard the good ole Washington Deluxe and bus it back to DC, my first trip home since September.
I’m hoping that I can thereby break this spiral of culinary madness.

But I know in the back of my mind that home will furnish forth Christmas cookies, alcohol, the obligatory British-style brandy-soaked Christmas pudding and mince pies, chocolate coins, other holiday-themed tidbits…there is no hope.

Leave a Reply

