JC Pain-y! :-/

So I was doing the dishes. It often takes me a long time to get up the gumption to approach a mound of dirty dishes festering in the sink…so it’s more accurate to say that I had finally mustered the will to do the dishes. Then I was doing them. Then something untoward happened. This:

“What is this commercial? You have to see this! It’s, like, The Breakfast Club except with different kids?” my girlfriend cried out in confusion from the living room.

Impossible. Besides, I was immersed in dishes.
“Ummm…I don’t understand. Is it that movie? Is it Not Another Teen Movie?”

“No it’s like a Breakfast Club commercial!”

“Um…riiiight,” I intoned, still absorbed in my task. I promptly forgot about the whole thing.

Some days later we were watching TV again and, even though I had ample forewarning, I was totally dumbfounded by this commercial. Watching it is like getting your teeth drilled for a week — your jaw can’t do anything but drop. I still can’t quite believe it.

Here are some reasons why I hate this JC Penny nonsense:

Music. I really liked the original Breakfast Club music. It wasn’t for everybody, sure, but even the soundtrack’s fiercest critic would maintain that it didn’t suck so unapologetically as this soulless JC Penny remix.

Diversity. In the movie Judd Nelson is working class, for example, and the main source of his frustration throughout the film is his forced imprisonment with irritatingly naive middle class kids. The JC Penny ad does feature multi-ethnic actors but I’d argue that the original movie makes more of an effort to present a diverse picture of the teen population in a podunk Illinois town while the ad whitewashes such a picture.

Desecration of the sacred. Seriously! I was and am outraged — there’s no better word. Maybe The Breakfast Club is like a sacred text for me; the film has an iconic status that stretches beyond its actual content. Looking at the string of comments after the video (on youtube), I don’t think I’m the only one for whom this is true.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

