The Chevy Volt

So random circumstance brought me to the Washington Auto Show over the past weekend, where I saw the famous Chevy Volt. It turns out that the car I saw is literally *THE* Chevy Volt. It’s custom-made — a prototype that gets shipped back and forth to auto shows around the country. The great white hope of the American auto industry isn’t even in production.

I guess I like the idea that I saw the one and only Volt, the same physical car that has been photographed a million times to create the Volt as a symbol of American ingenuity. And I like also the fact that the definite article expresses both of these ideas.

Leave a Reply

